CDEC District 26 Minutes July 23, 2015

Annual elections were conducted. Leslie Rubenstein, was elected as chair pro-tem.

Alan Ong and Wendy Pelle Beer were nominated for the position of CDEC president. Both gave short speeches. Alan was elected by a vote of 8 to 3. Alan took over the elections procedure.

Roll Call Vote - President:

Michelle Liu - Alan Roy Menendez - Alan Shajid Ali Muhammad - Alan Dilip Nath - Wendy Alan Ong - Alan Wendy Pelle Beer- Wendy Evelyn Schechter- Alan Bobby Thind - Alan Leslie Rubenstein - Wendy David Wong -- Alan Shengchao Yu - Alan

Wendy Pelle Beer and Bobby Thind were nominated as First Vice presidents. Wendy Pelle Beer was elected as First Vice-President by a vote of 6 to 5.

Roll Call Vote - First Vice-President:

Michelle Liu - Wendy Roy Menendez - Bobby Shajid Ali Muhammad - Bobby Dilip Nath - Wendy Alan Ong - Bobby Wendy Pelle Beer - Wendy Evelyn Schechter - Wendy Bobby Thind - Bobby Leslie Rubenstein - Wendy David Wong - Bobby Shengchao Yu - Wendy

Roy Menendez ran unopposed as 2nd Vice president and was elected unanimously.

Roll Call Vote - 2nd Vice-President:

Michelle Liu – Yes Roy Menendez– Yes Shajid Ali Muhammad – Yes Dilip Nath – Yes Alan Ong – Yes Wendy Pelle Beer – Yes Evelyn Schechter– Yes Bobby Thind – Yes Leslie Rubenstein– Yes David Wong – Yes Shengchao Yu – Yes

Leslie Rubenstein ran unopposed as Recording Secretary and was elected unanimously.

Roll Call Vote - Recording Secretary:

Michelle Liu – Yes Roy Menendez– Yes Shajid Ali Muhammad – Yes Dilip Nath – Yes Alan Ong – Yes Wendy Pelle Beer – Yes Evelyn Schechter– Yes Bobby Thind – Yes Leslie Rubenstein– Yes David Wong – Yes Shengchao Yu – Yes

Michelle Liu ran unopposed as Treasurer and was elected unanimously.

Roll Call Vote - Treasurer:

Michelle Liu – Yes Roy Menendez– Yes Shajid Ali Muhammad – Yes Dilip Nath – Yes Alan Ong – Yes Wendy Pelle Beer – Yes Evelyn Schechter– Yes Bobby Thind – Yes Leslie Rubenstein– Yes David Wong – Yes Shengchao Yu – Yes

Wendy made a motion to close the elections. David seconded the motion and it was unanimously approved.

Business Meeting

Present: Evelyn Schechter, Wendy Pelle Beer, Bobby Thind, Alan Ong, Leslie Rubenstein, Shajid Ali Muhammad, Roy Menendez, Dilip Nath, Michelle Liu, David Wong, Shengchao Yu **Absent**: None

Also Present: Danielle Giunta, Superintendent District 26, Lori Butera, District Family Advocate,

President's Report – none

Review of the By-Laws was conducted by Alan.

The committee set calendar dates for the coming year.

The council elected to create three committees: The By-Law Committee (David Wong, Chair, Wendy Beer, Evelyn Schechter and Shajid Ali Muhammad), The School Visit Committee (Leslie Rubenstein, Chair, Wendy Beer, Evelyn Schechter, and Shajid Ali Muhammad) and The Rezoning Committee (Dilip Nath. Chair, Wendy Beer, Leslie Rubenstein, David Wong and Shengchao Yu).

Sarah Turchin and Albery Melo from the Office of District Planning (DOE) gave a brief presentation on the rezoning process.

- Building Q332 (formerly Keil Brothers') will open in September 2017. Rezoning for elementary only impacts incoming kindergarten students. The school will open for kindergarten only. Siblings can be grandfathered in, if voted on by the CEC.
- As of now, capacity is 468 seats, 48 of which are reserved for District 75 students.
- The rezoning process was presented and a print out of a PowerPoint presentation was distributed.
- It was suggested that the CDEC should form a "Rezoning Committee" to act as a liaison with ODP over the course of the process, prior to a formal presentation to the entire CDEC and public.

Michelle made motion to adjourn the Business Meeting. David seconded the motion and all approved. Meeting adjourned at 9:10 p.m.

Public Meeting

Present: Evelyn Schechter, Wendy Pelle Beer, Bobby Thind, Alan Ong, Leslie Rubenstein, Shajid Ali Muhammad, Roy Menendez, Dilip Nath, Michelle Liu, David Wong, Shengchao Yu **Absent**: None

Also Present: Danielle Giunta, Superintendent District 26, Lori Butera, District Family Advocate

Superintendent Giunta welcomed new committee members and presented the following district updates:

- Introduction of new principals and distribution of their bios.
- Explanation of C-30 process;
- Description of new DOE structure
 - O Networks replaced by Borough Centers;
 - 0 liaison between District 26 and the Borough Center has been selected;

- O Queens Plaza North is District 26 Borough site with all of the central offices for this district.
- O Organization charts are available on DOE website
- Family Welcome Center is located at Linden Place in Flushing this office helps guide Queens parents with enrollments.
- Hawthorne Summer Program is housed at I.S. 67 this year.
- Summer School for elementary is at P.S. 46 and M.S. 158 for middle school.
 - Summer Graduation will take place on August 6th at M.S. 158 and a Borough Graduation on September 2nd at Metropolitan Expeditionary Learning School.

Lori Butera shared a variety of summer workshops that were offered for parents.

Michelle moved to adjourn the meeting. David seconded the motion and all approved. The meeting adjourned at 9:40.