

# Community District Education Council 26 New York City Department of Education

Address: 61-15 Oceania Street, Bayside, NY 11364 Phone: (718) 631-6927 Fax: (718) 631-1347 E-mail: CEC26@schools.nyc.gov.

Alan Ong	<b>Todd Friedman</b>	Cassandra Louie	Adriana Aviles	<b>Albert Suhu</b>
President of the Council	First Vice- President	Second Vice President	Recording Secretary	Treasurer
Council Members: Norman Cohn Dennis Chan Jennifer Catherall	Sulinda Hong Dilip Nath Tacho Hwang		Danielle Giunta Community Superintendent District 26	

#### July 01, 2021 Annual Election 7:10 PM

#### Annual Meeting called to Order and Roll Call at 7:06 PM by Cassandra Louie & Welcome.

**Present**: Alan Ong, Dennis Chan, **Jennifer Catherall**, Sulinda Hong, Todd Friedman, Cassandra Louie, Albert Suhu, Norman Cohn, Taeho Hwang.

Absent: Adriana Aviles

In attendance: Dr. Tara Davidson, Juliana Federoff, Farjana Faruk, Kim D'Angelo, Wendy Mo and Anthony Inzerillo.

Chair pro-tem:

Cassandra Louie nominated herself as chair pro-tem.

- I. Annual Election: Cassandra was elected chair pro-tem unanimously and started the procedure for conducting elections.
  - A. <u>President:</u>
    - Norman Cohn nominated Alan Ong for the position of President and seconded by Cassandra Louie.
    - Todd Friedman nominated himself for the position of President.
    - Each candidate spoke for two minutes.
    - Vote was taken after the speech.
      - Vote for Alan Ong: Norman Cohn, Cassandra Louie, Alan Ong and Taeho Hwang, (4) Vote for Todd Friedman: Sulinda Hong, Dennis Chan and Todd Friedman (3) Abstain: Jennifer Catherall and Albert Suhu (2)
  - B. Council voted to ask each candidate questions. Motion approved unanimously. Council proceeded to ask questions to Alan Ong and Todd Friedman.
  - C. Cassandra Louie motioned to vote for the position of electing President for the candidate Alan Ong and Todd Friedman.

Vote for Alan Ong: Norman Cohn, Cassandra Louie, Alan Ong, Taeho Hwang, Jennifer Catherall and

Albert Suhu. (6)

Vote for Todd Friedman: Sulinda Hong, Dennis Chan and Todd Friedman. (3) Alan Ong was elected as CEC26 President for 2021-2022 CEC26 Council.

D. 1<sup>st</sup> Vice-President: Norman Cohn nominated Todd Friedman as the 1<sup>st</sup> Vice-President. Nomination was accepted by Todd Friedman. Roll call vote was taken.

9 Yes- Todd Friedman was unanimously elected as 1<sup>st</sup> Vice-President for CEC26 for 2021-2022 school year.

E. 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-President: Norman Cohn nominated Cassandra Louie the 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-President. Cassandra Louie was nominated as the 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-President and accepted nomination. Roll call vote was taken.

9 Yes- Cassandra Louie was unanimously elected as  $2^{\mbox{\scriptsize nd}}$  Vice-President for CEC26 for 2021-

2022 school year.

## F. Recording Secretary:

1) Adriana Aviles nominated herself for the position of Recording Secretary through email to Administrative Assistant. Roll call vote was taken.

**9 Yes-** Adriana Aviles was unanimously elected as Recording Secretary for CEC26 for 2020-2021 school year.

- G. Treasurer: Albert Suhu nominated himself as the treasurer. Roll call vote was taken.
  9 Yes- Albert Suhu was unanimously elected as the Treasurer for CEC26 for 2020-2021 school year.
- II. Annual Election was concluded and meeting called to adjournment by Cassandra Louie and at 8:40 PM. Motion passed unanimously.

## July 01, 2021 Calendar Meeting

# <u>Calendar Meeting</u>

#### Meeting called to Order and Roll Call at 8:40 PM by Alan Ong.

**Present**: Alan Ong, Dennis Chan, Jennifer Catherall, Sulinda Hong, Todd Friedman, Cassandra Louie, Albert Suhu, Norman Cohn, Taeho Hwang.

Absent: Adriana Aviles

Also Present: Tara Davidson, Deputy Superintendent District 26 and District 26 Team

- I. Welcome by Dr. Tara Davidson (Deputy Superintendent)
- II. Superintendent Report (Dr. Tara Davidson- Deputy Superintendent)
- Provided update regarding Summer Rising, re-opening in September and District 26 goals for 2021-2022.
- III. Public Comment:
- Jim Gallagher-Provided updates regarding upcoming events in the community.
- Alan Ong to adjourn Meeting at 9:28 PM. Motion passed.

## **Business Meeting Minutes**

# Business Meeting: 7:20 PM

#### Meeting called to Order and Roll Call at 9:25 PM by Adriana Aviles.

**Present**: Alan Ong, Dennis Chan, Jenifer Catherall, Sulinda Hong, Todd Friedman, Cassandra Louie, Albert Suhu, Norman Cohn, Taeho Hwang.

Absent: Adriana Aviles

Also Present: Tara Davidson, Deputy Superintendent and District 26 Team

#### I. <u>Welcome</u>

- II. <u>Minutes</u> Due to not enough current members attending the CEC meeting on June, the minutes are tabled till further guidance.
- III. <u>Resolution for Budget 2021-2020</u> Albert Suhu presented the budget for the council and motion to approve the budget. Motion to approve by Alan Ong and motion passed unanimously, **Budget was approved for 2021-2022 (please see addendum A).**
- IV. <u>Meeting Dates for 2021-2022</u>: Motion was made by Alan Ong and seconded by Cassandra Louie to approve CEC26 meeting dates for 2021-2022 (see addendum B). Motion to approve by Alan Ong and motion passed unanimously. All meeting dates are subject to change and vote for approval of Meeting dates for 2021-2022 and subject to change due to emergency and conflict.
  - Members also discussed inviting Chancellor for Town Hall.
- V. <u>School Liaison;</u> CDEC26 will discuss liaison at the next meeting due to time limit.
- VI. **<u>Committees:</u>** CDEC26 will discuss liaison at the next meeting due to time limit.

# VII. <u>Member Reports:</u>

1. Todd Friedman presented a proposed resolution against the failure of Summer Rising and raised concerns that students are being forced to accept seats outside of the borough. This is a major concern as we are transportation desert. The committee was created to further discuss the proposal.

- 2. Dennis Chan raised concern regarding admission policy and will be added in the next month's calendar for further discussion.
- **3.** Albert Suhu raised concerns regarding Asian American hate and proposed passing a resolution. Norman Cohn and Cassandra Louie gave an update on ECC meeting.

Alan Ong motioned to adjourn Meeting at 10:00 PM. Motion passed.

Submitted by Farjana Faruk

Addendum A-