## **Community Education Council District 26**

Address: 61-15 Oceania Street, Bayside, NY 11364 Phone: (718) 631-6927 Fax: (718) 631-1347 E-mail: CEC26@schools.nyc.gov

Alan Ong President of the Council	<b>Todd Friedman</b> First Vice- President	Cassandra Louie Second Vice President	Adriana Aviles Recording Secretary	<b>Albert Suhu</b> Treasurer
Council Members: Norman Cohn	Sulinda Hong	Athena Gavros		
Dilip Nath	Dennis Chan			
Jennifer Catherall	Taeho Hwang			

October 14th, 2021

Chancellor Meisha Porter NYC Department of Education 52 Chambers Street New York, NY 10007

Dear Mayor Bill de Blasio and Chancellor Meisha Porter,

Friday, October 8<sup>th</sup>, a bomb was dropped to the entire school community officially announcing eliminating the Gifted &Talented program and the new approach of a reimagined accelerated learning. To make things worse, the community found out from an article released in The New York Times before a 3-day weekend.

On January 11, 2021, the Mayor announced changes to the G&T program and promised to engage and work in partnership with families, Community Education Councils, Parent Teacher Associations and Panel for Education Policy to decide the way forward.

For the past nine months, there was no form of communications or engagement about the changes or eliminating the G&T program. CEC26 has continuously reached out to Department of Education(DOE) to be engaged but continuously failed to receive any communication from DOE.

Time and time again our families and children are let down with empty promises of engagement.

We, the members of Community Education Council of District 26 urge the Mayor and the Chancellor, to be true to their words and meet with our District 26 community to provide more insight to the changes and listen to our parents and families' comments, questions, and concerns.

Sincerely,

Community Education Council District 26

Alan Ong, President Todd Friedman, 1st Vice-President Cassandra Louie, 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-President Adriana Aviles, Recording Secretary Albert Suhu, Treasurer Taeho Hwang Norman Cohn

Dilip Nath Sulinda Hong Dennis Chan Jennifer Catherall Athena Gavros